Back to top

NIHSS-SAHUDA Doctoral Scholarships

The National Institute for the Humanities and Social Sciences (NIHSS) invites applications from suitably qualified South African students to study full-time towards a humanities and social sciences doctoral degree at any of the participating South African public universities. The main objective of this programme is to promote, build and dynamise scholarships in the Humanities and Social Sciences, strengthen student-centred culture, while addressing inequities in the current higher education system. To fulfil these objectives, the NIHSS collaborates annually with the South African Humanities Deans Association (SAHUDA) to extend scholarships to full-time PhD students based at the following participating South African universities: Cape Peninsula University of Technology; Durban University of Technology; Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University; North West University; Rhodes University; Stellenbosch University; Tshwane University of Technology; University of Cape Town; University of Fort Hare; University of the Free State; University of Johannesburg; University of KwaZulu-Natal; University of Limpopo; University of Pretoria; University of South Africa; University of the Western Cape; University of the Witwatersrand; University of Venda; University of Zululand; Vaal University of Technology; and  Walter Sisulu University.